geronimo k

What do you mean this is silly?

Batenkill review via a top 5 good and top 5 bad lists

Top 5 reasons why I enjoyed my recent trip to Battenkill.

5.  Meeting new people. Host housing family amazing and as you may know, it’s not always great.  Check out the pic of my accommodations.  I dream of having a little cabin like this:

4.   Seeing my gypsy friends.  Racing bikes introduces you to some great people and sadly, I only see them at the races.  They are spread around the country after all.  It’s nice to catchup, even if it’s brief or there’s nothing new.

3.  Meeting Greg Lemond.  A childhood inspiration.  I was a total fanatic.  I regretfully told him that I use to daydream I was racing him while out riding my own bike.  I think I scared him.  He had some questions about my Garmin and it’s mounting location.  Garmin – if you read this (and I have no illusions you’ll see this blog – but just in case you do) send Greg a Garmin 500 with your new in front of stem mount.

3. Amazing to see 3000+ riders plow into the small town of Cambridge NY.  They pour their guts, blood, sweat and tears all over the roads of Battenkill River Valley.  There are people that have no business doing such things, yet they laugh at reality and go for it anyway.  Battenkill is a very unique race and route.  Every racing cyclist should compete here at least once.

2.  Connecting with a team.  I’ve always appreciated the camaraderie of teammates.  Some of my current teammates have been part of the Gypsy crew for 20+ years while some are barely out of high school.  Re-telling old stories just doesn’t get old and I enjoy passing on some knowledge, useful or not, to the newbies.  I had old pros teach me the ropes.  All they asked was that one day I pay it forward.

1.  Seeing and hearing about my closest friends, whom I’ve been riding with all winter, have successful Battenkill races.  So proud of them.

Top five things I didn’t like about my recent trip to Battenkill

5.  Riders thinking they are too cool.  It’s such a shame, think about it: we ride bicycles.  We aren’t defending our country and/or saving lives.  However, some people act and walk around like their poop doesn’t stink.  Get over yourselves.  Say hello to people and other riders.

4.  Going to work the very next day.

3.  Unpacking.  I really dislike unpacking.

2.  Being too busy and self-absorbed with my weekend to actually connect with my closest friends.  I barely made the time to find out how their races went.  Good thing is that my friends are awesome and I’ll be hearing about their races all week/weekend.  I’m looking forward to hearing their full stories.

1.  Time away from home.  As much as I love riding my bike and it’s travels.  It has become tougher for me to be away from my girl and two dogs.

1 Comment»

  Karen Minnich Skorochod wrote @

Cool post! Love that cabin 🙂


Leave a Reply

