geronimo k

What do you mean this is silly?

My NAHBS Favorites

There was A LOT to see.  I was there three days and I guarantee I missed something.

Here are my favorites:

Road Steel – Zoncanoto Road Steel

Classic Cycling Essentials creator Brad Ford pointed out that the seat cluster looked liked a “Block of cheese with two sticks of bread jammed into it.”   I had to agree that the lug is a bit portly.  Mentioning it to Dreesens he was quick to agree and yet explain that the lug is necessary for the Max tubing bi-oval shape.  When it wasn’t there on Sunday I was bummed.

Road Carbon – Crumpton Custom

Nick Crumpton is a one man show.

Cyclocross – Moots PsychloX

I liked the full housing from Top Tube for the rear mech (which was pretty common at the show).

Mountain Geared – Tie: FORM 29er & STIJL 1×9

Lefty fork, Hollowgram BB30 Cranks, Sram XX, Stan Wheelset, Custom Ti frame and expensive!  This bike just oozed cool though.

First bike that made me stop in my tracks Friday and stopped to see it everyday.  Nice graphics and the seatstays were beautiful.

Mountain Single Speed – Signal Cycles 29er Singlespeed

Elegant simplicity, paint matched White Bros fork, internal routing for rear brake, Eccentric BB, Thomson bits = function.

Mutant – Vanilla Kids Bike

Not really a “mutant” but the amount of metamorphosis to make this 26″ wheel bike look like a cafe racer is just sweet.  Thank you Greg Wittwer of Alan Bikes for pointing this bike out to me.  There is one happy kid riding this thing somewhere.

Track – Don Walker

Custom made for David Wiswell this bike is a true track racing bike.

Fixie – Iglehart Three Speed Fixed Gear

Yep – three speed fixed gear.  Also note: fenders, racks for bags (which mounts to seatpost), Ritchey Breakaway Tubing, front brake cable hanger and three speed cable guide near seat tube cluster.  What was even more impressive was that Christopher Iglehart himself was on Sunday’s Rapha Ride and riding well till the group leaders started rolling through intersections and railing the downhills and turns (unfamiliar to much of the group).  Poor Mr. Iglehart, and a few others, were left behind so I waited.  Best part of the ride was that I did.  Mr. Iglehart was gracious and inquisitive of my PowerCranks. We had some good conversation and enjoyed the views back into town.  Big thanks to Joel (who also waited back) to make sure we all made the super secret turn back across the river to Richmond.

Here’s a pic of Iglehart and Dreesens talking at back at the Hotel

Townie – Yipsan

I’d like to buy this bike for Jill. It was also a “best in show.”

Touring – Tom Kellog Randonneur

Classic look, classic paint scheme (which I would never consider till I then saw it in person – it works nicely), solid fenders, custom reinforced racks, bags from Spain (so Tom tells me) and if I were ever to go on a tour I’d like to be on this beauty.  Congrats to Tom for winning the best steel frame in show award at the NAHBS!

Surprised and yet thrilled to see – Grove Innovations Hot Rod Cranks

True Grassroots Innovation – Grove did some mind blowing things loooong before others.  There was even a Hammerhead bar/stem hanging in the booth.  Rody Walter of Groovy Cycles told me he used to work with Bill Grove and said he actually made this bar after his stint with Grove.  I thought it was very class for him to say that.  Saw lots of Albert Bold seat clamp designs around the show.   Albert Bold created that design almost 20 years ago!  I wonder if the builders that were using Bold’s idea would admit to it or even know?  Granted I didn’t ask but I did hear one builder telling a person that it was “his design.”  By my guess this builder was in his mid-thirties.  This would mean that Albert stole the idea when said builder was 15?  I guess that’s possible.

Best Display: Bilenky

A whole work shop as a booth.  Cool.

Notes: All of my picks were based on: 1. Practicality or “Will I actually be able to ride this thing or do I have to keep it in a atmosphere controlled room?”  2. Aesthetics: obviously this is very subjective

I was surprised to see so many 29ers.  I don’t think the 26″ bikes broke into the double digits.

There were lots of cross bikes.

Vintage parts appeared on many bikes.

There was a lot more youthful enthusiasm and buzz compared to marketing blitzkrieg of Interbike.

Walking the floor with Peter Dreesens is enlightening.

3 Comments»

  Joey wrote @

I understand the thinking behind the PsycloX rear cable der routing but it just looks sloppy. Great pics. Thanks.

  geronimok wrote @

I totally agree with you. I think an extra guide, or two, would keep it tighter to the frame and perhaps running it on the rearward side of the stay would solve the loose fitting look.

  Brad wrote @

RE: the Zoncanoto… the frame you have pictured here has a much more svelte seat cluster than the one we spoke about–the orange frame, in front of the one pictured, had a much bulkier, clumsy cluster. I felt there was a more elegant solution for the union between the seat stays and seat tube. I’m just picky about the aesthetics…


Leave a Reply

