geronimo k

What do you mean this is silly?

Hospital Visit

So I missed out on Iron Hill Twilight for the second year and a row due to an infection in my useless appendix.  Reflecting back I’ve had the symptoms start well over a week ago, fatique, nausea, pain in stomach area; but raced two days in New England, read last post, and then had a decent week of training.

Thursday night I awoke at 3 a.m. to some sharp pain and had difficulty sleeping the rest of the morning.  Friday I just assumed I had food poisoning or something and did nothing but sit around the house (hoping to recover in time for Iron Hill Twilight).   So I scrounge up some energy to go upstairs in the loft and play GTIV Friday night  when bam; I double over in pain and start screaming.  Yep , screaming.  Jill took me to the hospital  and we  got kinda lucky.  We were behind and ambulance the whole way, thank you to whomever was in that ambulance and I hope they are alright because they shaved off a precious few minutes from our commute.  While in the Emergency Room I kept screaming, moaning and slithering around in violent pain.  I could have been an extra in the ER TV series.

After several people asking me the same darn questions over and over I started to get plain ole angry.  “Why can’t someone just help me out here!!!”  The nurse then suspects I have a kidney stone, “God no.”  I think to myself.  My ole coach and pal had them and dealt with it for over a year.  So I stand up and try to have a piss right then and there, into a urine container mind you.  The Dr. had already ordered Morphine and this point and I was actually declining cause I could feel a piss coming on.  “If I can just get this thing out…” I say to her.  I piss and the pain is still there.  Damn.

I’m wheeled down for a CT scan to look for the stones.   It’s been over an hour now and the pain has almost made me vomit and now modulated to my right side just above the pelvis and is radiating into my penis.  Yes, I just typed that.  This was hour was the most excruciating pain I have ever experienced.

Finally the morphine takes enough of the edge away that I can actually sit still and talk rationale.  Thank goodness for Jill as she is patient the whole time.  The nurses were very patient too and I apologized for screaming at all of them.

CT results come in and no stones.  “What!”  What in the world could it be?  Jill suspected my appendix the whole time and I drink some crazy red liquid that is flavored with Crystal Light so they can do another Scan.  At this point it’s 1:30 a.m. Friday.  I’m already thinking: “Can I race Iron Hill today?”

3:00 a.m. and the results come back to tell me that I have appendicitis and they need to operate in the A.M.  I’m admitted overnight and sleep like a baby (morphine I’m sure had something to do with this.)  I had know idea that appendicitis would hurt so much!  Maybe I’m a wuss….

11:00 a.m. the next day I have surgery and the stupid piece of flesh that caused all these problems is removed.  I’m taking to recovery and eventually back to my room but don’t get discharged until almost 5:00 p.m.  I guess I’m not racing Iron Hill eh?  Anesthesia is still affecting me and I go home to sleep more.  At least I got to see most of stage one of the Tour De France on VS. while in the Hospital

Fast Forward to Today:  All I’ve done is slept, eaten very little, went pee a few times, watched You Me and Dupree, Wedding Crashers, and Something About Mary.  I have also posted a bunch of stuff on Ebay.

I have yet to poop though.  It’s been like three friggin days!  I hope this is normal after they take a small part of your intestine away.

My Stomach is still sore, I walk like an old man but I hope to be back on the bike and recovered in the next few days.

Peace.

2 Comments»

  John DeLong wrote @

I think the lack of movements is related to the morphine. I hope you are feeling better soon, and you didn’t miss to mush at Iron Hill. Except the most fans I have ever seen watching a crit.

  Slush Puppy wrote @

whatever you want for those vintage psu jerseys…name it


Leave a Reply

